Lake Mead National Recreation Area Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Watches & Warnings

Wind Advisory
Issued: 2:53 PM MST Dec. 13, 2017 – National Weather Service

... Wind Advisory remains in effect from 2 am PST /3 am MST/ to
6 PM PST /7 PM MST/ Thursday...

* timing... winds will increase with and behind a cold front
after 2 am Thursday and continue through the afternoon.

* Winds... north 25 to 35 mph with gusts 40 to 55 mph.

* Impacts... strong cross winds will make driving difficult...
especially for high profile vehicles. Use extra caution.
Strong winds over the open waters will make the lake water
choppy and hazardous... and may result in high waves which
could tip or swamp smaller craft.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

Drivers should use caution and be prepared for sudden wind gusts.
Take action to secure trash cans... lawn furniture... and other
loose or lightweight outdoor objects. Boaters should avoid the
open waters and stay close to shore or around protected areas.




Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Nearby Radar Stations